Pork cuts with Filipino market names

Cooking is easy,once you know the proper cooking techniques  and cookbooks / online recipes are easy to find,but what if the recipe requires you western name of ingredients?

Starting with my culinary adventure 3 years ago.I search for a culinary english -filipino translation book,on every bookstore here on metromanila ,since I do not know the proper translations.I find it hard because some vendors dont know the translation of cuts of meats so I decided to do my own research,

Ill put some butchery information of Pork

  • Kasim    = Boston Butt
  • Liempo   = Bacon
  • Tadyang = Spare ribs
  • Tagiliran = Pork loin
  • Lomo       = Pork Tenderlion
  • Maskara = Mask
  • Tenga     = Ears
  • Pata        = Ham leg
  • Ribs         = Baby Back ribs
  • Pigi          = Ham(Boneless,short shank)
  • Pata Back(Parts) = knuckles hindfoot
  • Batok      = neck bones
  1. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to
    “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  2. Thanks for this too! Will share this in my food page🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

